RTG-04 Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier

Documents from [1949] to [1952]

Identity Statement

Reference Code
Extent and Medium

15 files

Reference Archivists

Carr, Mary


Administrative and Biographical History

European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), administrative agency established by a treaty ratified in 1952, designed to integrate the coal and steel industries in western Europe. The original members of the ECSC were France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg.
Fourteen months elapsed between the signing of the Treaty institutionalising the ECSC and the last ratifying vote in June 1952. Only then did the International Ruhr Authority ceilings on steel production disappear. The High Authority's head quarters were established in Luxembourg with Jean Monnet as President, 10 August 1952.

Allied Materials

Icon loader 2acdb8e0a67b493326602c36dfafc6d676b5f427ed73ffa83db703a5365dd0fa
This website requires Javascript to be Activated to work Correctly