RTG-07 Rome Treaties

Identity Statement

Reference Code
Reference Archivists

Carr, Mary


Administrative and Biographical History

At the Messina Conference in June 1955, the ECSC Council of Ministers formally agreed to discuss preliminary plans for a multilateral organisation that would integrate European atomic energy development under the acronym of Euratom. An inter-governmental conference was established under the chairmanship of Paul-Henri Spaak which decided to establish a steering Committee which would meet regularly to inspire, direct, co-ordinate and follow the work of its Committees i.e. Common Market, investments and social problems Committee, orthodox power Committee, nuclear power Committee and transport and communications Committee.

The Treaties of Rome refer to two of the treaties of the European Union signed on March 25, 1957. Both treaties were signed by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany. The first treaty established the European Economic Community (EEC) and the second established the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC or Euratom)

Content and Structure



Allied Materials

Icon loader 2acdb8e0a67b493326602c36dfafc6d676b5f427ed73ffa83db703a5365dd0fa
This website requires Javascript to be Activated to work Correctly