Interview with Tugendhat, Christopher

From the The European Commission 1973-1986. Memories of an institution Collection

Identity Statement

HAEU Reference Code
Interview Informations

Recorded in 17 August 2010
Interview by Piers Ludlow

Access Level
Open Transcript, Open Audio

Audio, Electronic File



Au cours de l'interview le témoin a abordé les sujets suivants : Appointment process for Commissioners; Jenkins/Thorn presidency contrast; composition of cabinets; allocation of portfolios; EC budget; relations with European Parliament; British Budgetary Question; European Monetary System; steel industry crisis and Commission response; Commission G7 representation; roi Jean Quinze; Commission meetings; French Commissioners; personnel politics; linguistic balance; relations with COREPER; relations with national ministers; Franco-German axis; enlargement (Greece, Spain, Portugal); Jenkins' cabinet; George Thomson; Christopher Soames; Margaret Thatcher; Roy Jenkins; John Davies; James Callaghan; François Ortoli; Finn Gundelach; Gaston Thorn; Etienne Davignon; Lorenzo Natali; Douglas Hurd; Edgard Pisani; Richard Hay; Horst Reichenbach; Patrick Hillary; Pauline Neville-Jones; Roy Denman; Valéry Giscard d'Estaing; Helmut Schmidt; Jacques Delors; John Palmer; Antonio Giolitti; Raymond Vouël; Daniel Strasser; O. Bus Henriksen; Gérard Imbert; Paolo Clarotti; Pierre Baichère; Carlo Facini; Jozef van Gronsfeld; Michael Butler; David Williamson; Geoffrey Howe; Frans Andriessen; Poul Dalsager; Richard Burke; Claude Cheysson; Emile Noël; Klaus-Dieter Ehlermann; Donald Maitland; Luc de Nanteuil; Niels Ersboll; Renato Ruggiero; Philippe de Schouteete; Joseph van der Meulen; Manfred Lahnstein; Klaus von Dohnanyi; Laurent Fabius; Maurice Papon; Andrew O'Rourke; Arthur Cockfield; François Mitterrand; Helmut Kohl; Georgios Kontogeorgis; Raimundo Bassols; Wilhelm Haferkampf; Willy Brandt; Claude Villain; Eamonn Gallagher; Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa; Pierre Mathijsen; Jimmy Carter; Crispin Tickell; Hayden Phillips

Cited Persons

Baichère, Pierre, Bassols, Andreu, Brandt, Willy, Bus Henriksen, O., Butler, Michael, Carter, Jimmy, Clarotti, Paolo, Cockfield, Arthur, Dalsager, Poul, Davies, John, Delors, Jacques, Denman, Roy, Dohnanyi, Klaus Von, Ehlermann, Claus-Dieter, Ersbøll, Niels, Fabius, Laurent, Facini, Carlo, Gallagher, Eamonn, Giolitti, Antonio, Giscard d´Estaing, Valery, Gronsfeld, Jozef van, Hay, Richard, Hillary, Patrick, Hurd, Douglas, Imbert, Gérard, Kohl, Helmut, Kontogeorgis, Georgios, Lahnstein, Manfred, Maitland, Donald, Mathijsen, Pierre, Meulen, Joseph Van Der, Miterrand, François, Nanteuil, Luc de, Neville-Jones, Pauline, O’Rourke, Andrew, Padoa Schioppa, Tomaso, Papon, Maurice, Phillips, Hayden, Pisani, Edgar, Reichenbach, Horst, Ruggiero, Renato, Schmidt, Helmut, Schouteete, Philippe de, Soames, Christopher, Strasser, Daniel, Thomson, George, Tickell, Crispin, Vouel, Raymond

Relations Area

Reproduction is authorised, provided the source is acknowledged, except where otherwise stated.
Where prior permission must be obtained for the reproduction or use of textual and multimedia information
(sound, images, etc.), this permission cancels the general permission mentioned elsewhere and indicates any restrictions on use.

Icon loader 2acdb8e0a67b493326602c36dfafc6d676b5f427ed73ffa83db703a5365dd0fa
This website requires Javascript to be Activated to work Correctly